Max Toy Kaiju Battle Royal by Mark Nagata

toykarma

I recently finished this painting for a poster and various other upcoming Max Toy uses. Titled “Kaiju Battle Royal”, and featuring almost all of the various Max Toy characters. I work with acrylic paints on illustration board, this one 15 x 20 inches.

Using a HB pencil I start laying out the various characters. I didn’t really have time to do any sketches or thumbnails and to be honest i don’t do them most of the time … I simply work it up on the board.

The basic idea was to have the Max Toy Kaiju, etc fighting in San Francisco .. thus the Cable Car, Sutro Tower, etc …. and in the old Japanese Toy style … so yes I know the perspective is wonky  😛

Adding more shading and details as i go along …

The final penciled piece above is lightly sprayed with workable fixative.

I start…

View original post 186 more words

Leave a Reply

